Introducing my new blog – Aggie Runs a Marathon!

Thanks for stopping by and welcome to my new blog! This is just an introductory post so I’ll keep it short and sweet.

I decided to start a blog because I am running the Bank of America
Chicago Marathon on October 12, 2014. I never in my wildest dreams thought I would run a marathon so then why have I decided to do it? Well, let’s just say, peer pressure rallied me in. I was on Instagram one day and I saw everyone posting about how they entered into the race lottery. They were all so excited to see if they got into the race and that excitement consequently rubbed off on me. Thinking I would never get picked to run the marathon, I signed up anyway. When the lottery winners were announced, alas, my name was picked. I was so happy and surprised that my name was picked out of all the thousands of entries.

I have always been actively fit. I ran track (sprints – short distances) in primary and high school, I love playing sports (especially tennis) and I enjoy lifting weights. But, running my first marathon will be a huge test of my endurance and patience. I am very excited yet slightly nervous to conquer the next 18-19 weeks of training. When I cross that finish line on October 12, I will be proudly be able to cross ‘Ran a Marathon’ off my bucket list. I can’t wait to finish racing an epic 26.2 miles and OWN CHICAGO.

Over the next few months I plan to be writing and sharing posts about running, running, and did I mention running? Except a weekly post from me where I will recap my training or I may post every other day.

That’s it for now! If you’d like to be kept updated with my posts “Like” this post or subscribe to my blog.

Have your ran a marathon before? Will you be running your first marathon this year too? I’d love to hear about it. Comment below.

xoxo,
Aggie

 

