Marathon Training: Week 1 Preview

“Everything you need is already inside.” – Bill Bowerman

20140622-172202-62522565.jpg

Tomorrow, 23 June 2014, is day 1 of my training for the Chicago Marathon. I still cannot believe that I will be running 42.2km (26.2 miles) on 12 October 2014. The longest distance that I have ever ran is 10 miles so of course, running 12, 15, and 18+ miles during training will be a challenge. I am ready to take on this challenge.

Bill Bowerman, a legendary track and field coach and co-founder of Nike, once stated that everything you need is already inside. I really believe this and I think that where there is a WILL there is a WAY!! If I really follow my training schedule, eat well, hydrate properly, and take rest days, then I know that I’ll be successful in finishing off my FIRST MARATHON. I have all the tools that I need and nothing is holding me back except my ankle pain. I will be training with Nike.

Tomorrow evening is the first group run for everyone training with Nike Chicago. I’m excited to meet everyone on my training team and to see my friends Emily and Cindy there too 🙂

For those of you running your first marathon or tackling a long distance race, what are you most excited about? What are your nervous about? Tell me in the comments.

Stay tuned for a Week 1 (23-29 June 2014) training recap. Wish me luck. This is going to be the best summer of my life.

xoxo,
Aggie

Leave a Reply

