Good news: 2014 Nike Women’s Half Marathon

“Risks must be taken because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing.” – quote by Leo Buscaglia

20140630-213530-77730033.jpg

Guess what? I am running the Nike Women’s Half-Marathon in San Francisco this year. My name was picked from the lottery on Thursday, June 26th. I’ll be joining a group of 25,000 runners (males included) in conquering THE HILLS OF San Francisco!!

20140701-000905-545451.jpg

The only way to run the race is to raise money for charity, get a college student entry, or win a lottery entry. The race is on Sunday, October 19th and my birthday is on Monday, October 20th. I’m super excited & I can’t think of a better way to celebrate my birthday. There is however, a slight problem.

You see, the Nike Women’s half-marathon is 6 days after the Chicago Marathon. The marathon is on October 12th and the half-marathon is on October 19th. If you know how to count then that means I have 6 full days to recover from running my first marathon.

Right now, you are probably thinking, “Is Agnes crazy?” I’m more excited than crazy because I have never been to California. I’ve always wanted to visit California and I’m so happy that my dreams are finally coming through. I don’t plan to stress too much about running 13.1 miles because my goal is to just enjoy myself out there. If I get too tired then I will take walking breaks. I heard that running the hills of San Francisco is breathtaking. I will be running through landmark sites like the Golden Gate Bridge.

20140630-233933-85173944.jpg
Photo from Nike

20140630-231759-83879375.jpg
Photo from Nike

After I signed up for the race lottery (back in May), I later realised that it may have been a bad idea because I really do not have the money to pay for the race and fly to California. BUT, one of my fun goals this year was to travel somewhere (locally or internationally). So when my credit card was charged last week (for the race), I was actually really happy although if some of you would like to donate funds to the ‘Aggie goes to CA fund’ then feel free to send me a message. I will happily accept your kind donation 🙂 No pressure, of course.

The only other Nike Women’s race I’ve done was the Nike Women’s 10K back in March 2013 in Chicago. It was a smaller race that Nike Training Club organized. I got to run and meet Shawn Johnson, a former U.S. Olympic gymnast, and her personal trainer, Jeanette Jenkins. I remember having so much fun mingling with people afterwards. The feeling of finishing my first 10K was amazing! By the way, It started raining after mile 1 and I was soaking wet while running – not fun.

20140630-230717-83237684.jpg
In this photo from L-R: Me, Shawn Johnson (former Olympian), and a friend

In summary, here are 3 words that describe how EPIC the Nike Women’s Half Marathon race will be:
1. Gorgeous
2. Scenic
3. Challenging race route (all those UPHILLS).

Although I’m still in my late twenties, I’m not getting any younger. I’ve been envious of people who follow their passions & truly enjoy life. I’m tired of stressing about work and money. Now is the time for me to start ‘living’ my life and taking risks. To find out more about the ‘Run Nike Women running series’, then click here.

What sort of risks in life have you taken? Share it with me in the comments below or send me a message at aggieblogs25@gmail.com

xoxo,
Aggie

5 thoughts on “Good news: 2014 Nike Women’s Half Marathon

    1. Indeed, everyday of life should be enjoyed!! I do not want to regret not taking a risk so I’m so happy that I will be flying to California later this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

