Chicago Marathon Training: Week 2 Recap

“You donโ€™t have to be great at the start, but you have to start to be great.”

20140706-161800-58680928.jpg
Some members of the Nike Chicago Marathon Training Crew.

I can’t believe Week 2 is officially over. This week was classified as ‘recovery week’ and according to my training plan, I was supposed to cover a total of 23 miles. I managed to do exactly that and even went a bit over mileage.

20140706-182531-66331566.jpg

Week 2 of marathon training
Dates: June 30 – July 6, 2014
Number of runs: 7
Total Distance: 24.72 miles

Monday, 30 June 2014
3 miles (Ran 1.35 miles)

Emily and I headed over to Nike Running Bucktown to meet our crew for our weekly group run. At 6:30pm, the weather was warm but there was a big chance of rain. Nike decided to cancel the group run but a few others still headed out for a run. Emily and I were part of that lucky few. It wasn’t the rain that I was concerned about but the thunderstorms and lightning. After running a little over a mile and hearing loud thunderstorms, Emily and I stopped running and headed back home. So, you can see why I didn’t run the required 3 miles today.

Tuesday, 01 July 2014
6 miles (Ran 3.16)

Cindy, Emily, and I ran with Nike Bucktown for their Discovery Run. Discovery Runs are normally 3-5 miles and the point is to discover the neighbourhood. We normally end these runs at a local food establishment or a gym. Tonight, our run ended at DavidsTea where all the runners where given samples of 3 types of teas. I didn’t really like the samples but I do love tea. My favourite type of tea is Ginger tea.

20140706-180602-65162368.jpg

Wednesday, 02 July 2014
3 miles (ran 5.04 miles)

I ran more than 3 miles because I wanted to make up for not being able to run the full 3 miles on Monday and the full 6 miler yesterday. I ran on my own today and it took longer than usual because my left ankle is still acting up. Nonetheless, I got the run done. I also ate a delicious lunch from My Fit Foods. I had a coupon so my entire meal was free; well, I only paid about $3 since the coupon was for a value of $9. If you are looking for healthy foods them head over to My Fit foods. All the food is cooked fresh and you just go in there to pick up whatever you want (breakfast, lunch, or dinner).

Thursday, 03 July 2014
Cross Train (Ran 2.26 miles and cross-trained with NTC)

20140706-165728-61048639.jpg

I ran 2.26 miles and then did a 15 minute NTC (Nike Training Club) workout via the phone app. I did the Sculpted Arms workout and definitely felt the burn afterwards.

I’ve been getting a lot of compliments about my arms lately and how I have strong muscle definition in my biceps and triceps. It feels nice to hear and I wish more women would lift weights. You burn more fat and will become stronger if you lift weights. Here are some benefits of strength training.

Today, as I was leaving the grocery store, some random guy in his car (in the parking lot) asked me whether I was a professional weightlifter. Haha, I told him that I lift but I’m not an actual weightlifter ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, if you have a smartphone, I highly recommend that you download the FREE NTC app. I’ve enjoyed using it so far especially since I don’t have a gym membership.

20140706-171451-62091626.jpg

20140706-171451-62091388.jpg

Friday, 04 July 2014
3 miles Cross-trained (did bootcamp) and ran 3.02 miles

I ran 3.02 miles on my own but before that, I woke up super early to attend Gina’s 5:30am bootcamp class by the Lakeshore. YES, 5:30am!! Thankfully, Cindy came too so she was able to pick me up with her car.

I decided to go workout because it was a free class. Gina, a Nike trainer, decided to hold a free class for Independence Day holiday. I don’t regret waking up so early because the gorgeous sunrise made it all worth it; plus, I left feeling energised and strong before 6:30am.

20140706-172122-62482815.jpg

20140706-172816-62896158.jpg

Saturday, 05 July 2014
8 miles (ran 8.03 miles)

Saturdays are for long runs with my Nike Chicago training group. We all met at Nike Training Club by 6:15am and headed out for our run by 6:30am. Before running, Eve, one of the group leaders, surprised 2 people with gifts. Me and another girl (Cynthia) got Nike handheld water bottles. We received this gift because of our enthusiasm for training and posting the best pics on social media. This was a nice gift from Nike and I was happy to have received it.

20140706-175907-64747296.jpg

6:30am came fast and we split up into smaller groups based on how fast/slow each person would run (pace groups). Me and my new friend, Azi stuck together and it felt great to run with someone by my side for a long run. I love running with other people because it keeps me motivated. I took my signature jumping picture after running ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m looking forward to getting to know Azi and other members of my crew more this summer.

20140706-173250-63170999.jpg

Sunday, 06 July 2014
REST DAY (ran 1.85 miles)

I probably shouldn’t have run this morning since it is rest day. I can be stubborn sometimes. I will ice my legs tonight and prepare for a new week. My Nike+ coaching plan (via the Nike plus app) has warned me about overtraining. I think that if my body feels good then I should keep exercising. I will definitely stick to my training plan this coming week and try not to do too much. I don’t feel like I’m overtraining anyway because I normally workout 4-5 days a week.

20140706-173946-63586602.jpg

20140706-173946-63586404.jpg

xoxo,
Aggie

Looking Ahead…
Be sure to follow my blog and look out for a post early next week – I’ll be doing a product review of ENERGYBits & a giveaway on my blog.

How was your week of training? Let me know in the comments. Also, who has been watching the World Cup? I am excited that Argentina is going to the semifinals ๐Ÿ™‚ Football (or soccer as some call it) is super fun.

20140706-174336-63816507.jpg
Photo courtesy of FIFA.

5 thoughts on “Chicago Marathon Training: Week 2 Recap

    1. My pleasure. I think you will really love the workouts on the NTC app. Let me know if you have any questions about it. Chicago has live NTC classes so I get to go to those for free also. It is super fun.

  1. Agnes! Emily told me about your blog tonight at the store. I love it!!! I can’t wait to read more. Keep up the great training! Felicia
    Feel free to check out my blog too! A Soles Tale ๐Ÿ˜. See you soon.

    1. Hey Felicia, great to hear from you. Thanks for the nice compliment about my blog. I’m really enjoying marathon training so far. I will definitely check out your blog ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Leave a Reply

