Chicago Marathon Training: Week 11 recap

“I hated every minute of training, but I said, ‘Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.” – Muhammad Ali

IMG_1646.JPG

Week 11 of marathon training
Dates: 01 Sept. – 07 Sept. 2014
Number of runs: 1
Total Distance: 17.25miles

I’m BACK to running and back from recovering from my ankle/shin injury (although I am not 100% healed yet). If you didn’t already notice, I didn’t post on my blog (for marathon training weekly recaps) for Weeks 5-10. I took those 6 weeks to really heal. Not running actually does wonders for the body. I still actually ran on August 20th and August 26th and I felt okay then.

I can’t believe I’m already heading into Week 12 of my training program? Time is really passing by quickly. My goal this coming week is to run more often and that begins tomorrow (Monday) when I’ll run 5 miles with my marathon training crew.

For week 11 of marathon training, I was supposed to cover a total of 36.25 miles. Here’s how I did:

Monday, 01 September 2014
5 miles (I ran 0 miles)
Today was labour day so I planned to go running in the morning with Azi, a friend who is also training for the Chicago Marathon. Azi is in the Nike training group with me. We wanted to run 16 miles because we both didn’t get to run our long run last weekend (on August 30th).
I woke up with bad stomach cramps (period pain) and it was raining. So, I ended up not running. Female runners sometimes have the worst luck. I was really looking forward to running today.

Tuesday, 2 September 2014
3.25 miles (I ran 0 miles)
No running. Zero motivation. Stomach still a bit ‘blah’ from yesterday. Plus, I’m going through some personal issues now so running was the last thing on my mind today.

Wednesday, 3 September 2014
5miles (I cross trained and ran 0 miles)
Nervous to run because I didn’t want to hurt my ankle again. I did still workout though because I love to exercise.

I went to a cycling class at Flywheel Sports (Gold Coast location). This class was FREE because it was part of the ClassPass Chicago launch party.

IMG_1660-0.JPG

What is ClassPass?

ClassPass is a monthly membership that allows members to workout in fitness studios all over their city. Chicago is the fifth city to launch, with more to follow! For $99 a month you can take an unlimited number of classes and you can visit each studio up to 3 times in a month.

What an awesome concept! I love ClassPass.

IMG_1662.JPG
I sweated a lot in this 45 minute spin (cycling) class. Such a great workout πŸ™‚

After the cycling class, ClassPass had a fun photo booth for everyone to take pics and they also gave us all a swag bag filled with fitness goodies.

IMG_1647.JPG
Photo courtesy of ClassPass facebook page.

Thursday, 4 September 2014
Cross Train (I cross trained).
As part of Class Pass’s launch party, I took a free class this evening. It was a barre/weights class at The Dailey Method. I liked it because barre works so many different muscles.

IMG_1671-0.JPG

Friday, 5 September 2014.
5 miles (CrossTrained and ran 0 miles)
As part of my free monthly class pass membership, I get to take classes at different gyms across Chicago. Tonight was for cardio and barre. I took the Core Fusion Barre+ Cardio class at Exhale Spa. It was amazing!!

Saturday, 6 September 2014
18 miles (Ran 17.25 miles)
Today was my first long run. I woke up late so I couldn’t run with my Nike crew. I woke up at 6:20am and my Nike group meets at 6:30am on Saturdays. Luckily, GO City Runners (GCR) meets at 7am on Saturdays for their group long runs.

IMG_1673.JPG

IMG_1649.JPG

I enjoyed running with Alex, a girl I met this morning. She normally runs with GCR. We ran together the whole time because everyone else ran faster. It was really nice to have a running partner because running 17 miles by myself isn’t what I would have preferred.

The actual run went well but by mile 13, I began to feel it…oh yeah!! Runners, you know what I mean. The feeling you get when you hit “the wall” and you can no longer run. My thighs were hurting and by mile 15, I really began to feel it because everything hurt. Alex and I just began laughing and continued running. We took a few walking breaks and continued to push through the pain. We ended up running 17 miles instead of the 18 miles we were going to do.

Jigbie, the founder of GCR group was on his bicycle the whole time checking up on all the runners. It was really nice that he rode by Alex and I as we ran. He really is a sweet guy and a great motivator. I can see myself coming back and running with GCR again.

IMG_1645.JPG

IMG_1651.JPG

Sunday, 7 September 2014.
Rest day. (Yoga plus I rested).

I took a Bikram yoga class at Bikram Yoga Chicago. My muscles felt so good afterwards because my whole body was tight after yesterday’s long run. This class was free thanks to my Class Pass complimentary monthly membership πŸ™‚

IMG_1667.JPG

What a week. Going through injury isn’t fun and at times, I had no motivation to run. But, I’m back and ready to train my hardest for my first marathon. How do you handle defeats? Tell me in the comments below.

xoxo,
Aggie

7 thoughts on “Chicago Marathon Training: Week 11 recap

  1. Aww I’m sorry you were injured, but it sounds like you are on the upswing now! Congrats on your long run last week. How many runners run with GCR? I’m curious because I went running Saturday morning with my boyfriend on the Lakeshore path and we saw hundreds and hundreds of runners all grouped together!
    In terms of your question, I had an injury earlier this summer after my first half marathon in June (IT band tendonitis) and I got through defeat it by putting my energies toward cross training and increasing my flexibility with yoga. Plus it also helps to remind yourself that you will not be injured forever!

    1. Hi, thank you. What’s your first name by the way? I don’t want to keep referring to you as “BlackBeenQueen”…lol, unless you are fine with that.

      It sucks being injured. I’m about 85% healed now. My goal at this point is just to make sure I get the remaining LONG RUNS in before the Chicago Marathon.

      GOCityRunners is a well known Chicago running group but I’m not sure how many total members they have. I’ve only ran with them once (that was last weekend) and there were about 10 people that came out on Saturday morning. I’ve been running on the lakeshore path this summer and I have also noticed hundreds of running groups running together. This is common especially now that the Chicago Marathon is soon approaching. I will say though that some of these groups are HUGE and they are probably CARA (Chicago Area Runners Association) members or CES (Chicago Endurance Sports) members. This past weekend was the most number of people I’ve seen on the lakeshore. My Nike group heads out to the Lakeshore path by 6:30am because it does get crowded and also, the weather can become warm/hot later in the morning.

      1. No worries, you can call me ‘blackbeanqueen’, I do not mind. πŸ™‚ And I really hope you get to 100% before the marathon. Keep being positive about your recovery! ‘m really excited to watch the race, cheer everyone on, and be a volunteer at the Chicago marathon. Hopefully I’ll run it next year too as long as I do not get another summer injury. Wow, there are so many running group options here in the city, I love it! Also, I definitely agree that last weekend was the most people I’ve seen on the Lakeshore path, but I’ve only lived out here in Chicago for two months so that’s not saying much. haha.

  2. I just realized today that I’ve been getting my period of two decades (gah, and probably two more to go) and it does not get any easier. I still have 1-2 days per cycle where I just don’t want to do anything other than curl up on my couch with a heating pad.

    1. I KNOW. Women go through so much pain. Men will never understand. If only employers can give us 2 days off work during our period – that will make the such a difference. Curling up in my couch with a heating pad is exactly what I do on the first day of my period. Ahhh….

Leave a Reply

