Chicago Marathon – 1 Month Away and who I’m excited to meet

IMG_9914.JPG

Today is September 12th, 2014. I am exactly one month away from running my first marathon. I cannot believe how time has flown by so quickly. I am getting really excited to cross the finish line on October 12th. I am even more excited to meet some very inspirational people. Here’s who I’m most excited to see at this year’s Chicago Marathon:

1) The Elite Runners. Although I probably won’t get to meet the elite runners, it is still awesome to know that I’ll be running the same path as them on marathon day. I was lucky enough to meet Rita Jeptoo earlier this year (thanks to Nike). Rita will be running the Chicago Marathon this year. Last year, she ran the Chicago marathon with a time of 2:19:57 (her personal best time).

“The Bank of America Chicago Marathon today announced that the 2014 elite competition will feature five men with personal records (PR) of 2:05 or faster, and four women with the potential to break the tape on Columbus Drive under 2:20” – Sept. 4, 2014 press release.

2) Darren Weissman (aka, “Doctor Dribble”). I found out about ‘Doctor Dribble’ via Instagram. He is a basketball skills coach and personal trainer. He also runs races such as marathons while dribbling a basketball. How fun 🙂 He manages to finish a race in a good time eventhough he dribbles a basketball while running. I encourage you to take a look at his Instagram or Facebook page. You will definitely be motivated to get off your couch and start moving. I hope he has a meetup for his fans during Chicago marathon weekend because it would be pretty cool to meet him.

Doctor Dribble

3) Sarah Dussault. She is a Youtuber (makes fitness/health YouTube videos for a living) and also a fitness insturctor at Barry’s Bootcamp in Boston. I first found out about her when I was a college student. I had come across one of her Youtube exercise videos and loved it. She started making fitness videos in 2006 and now she has over 1 million followers on social media.  Check out her Youtube channel here: https://www.youtube.com/user/SarahsFabChannel

Sarah Fit

She is running the 2014 Chicago Marathon and this is her first marathon. She plans to host a shakeout run for her fans on the Saturday before the marathon but the time is still to be announced. I hope to meet her.

Here are some beginner marathon training tips form Sarah – http://sarahfit.com/beginner-marathon-tips/

4) Instagram friends. Through the wonders of the internet, I’ve met so many fitness-minded people. I can’t wait to meet many of my IG friends who have motivated me along the way during my marathon training journey. It’s pretty common nowadays to interact with people online so it is exciting that I will soon get to meet some of my favourite Instagram followers such as Auggie, Cindy, and Nyles.

Are you running the Chicago marathon or another marathon this year? Who are you most excited to meet on marathon weekend? Let me know in the comments below.

xoxo,
Aggie

 

Leave a Reply

