Chicago Marathon Training: Week 12 recap

“I dare you to train for a marathon and not have it change your life.” – Susan Sidoriak

IMG_1832.JPG

Week 12 of marathon training
Dates: 08 Sept. – 14 Sept. 2014
Number of runs: 3
Total Distance: 23.4 miles

As you recall from last week, my goal this week was to run more often and I did just that. While I only ran 3 times, I am happy that I was able to run considering that I am just coming off an injury. Here’s how I did this week:

Monday, 08 September 2014
5 miles (I ran 5 miles)

As usual on Mondays, I met my Nike marathon training group for our group run. Today was a recovery run since last weekend was a long run (most people ran 18 miles but I ran 17 miles). I started off running at an average 8:30 to 9:00min/mile pace which is fast for me. I then slowed down to a 10:00min mile pace. I do love to run fast but I find that if I speed it up, my left ankle starts to get really tight so slowing down helps. Plus, I’ll be running slow on marathon day anyway.

IMG_1967.JPG

After running 5 miles, I stretched then hung out at the Nike Bucktown store for a bit before heading home.

IMG_1993.JPG

Tuesday, 09 September 2014
8 miles (I ran 0 miles and cross-trained)
I probably would have ran if I was 100% injury free. I took a Vinyasa class at Moksha Yoga Riverwest. This class was free thanks to my monthly ClassPass membership. All this month, I can take classes at many gyms in Chicago at no cost. I am so greatful to ClassPass for gifting me with this amazing deal. I encourage you to try out ClassPass – it is only $99/month and with that fee you get unlimited access to the top gyms in your area. They are only in a few cities though so check their website to see if ClassPass is in your city.

IMG_1968.JPG

I really enjoyed yoga class this evening especially since the class was an hour and 30 minutes.

Wednesday, 10 September 2014
5 miles (I ran 2.95 miles)
I went running this evening with my roommate. It was a great way to end the night. We went running around 7pm and it got dark quickly. The fact that is is getting darker in the early evenings means that summer is officially over and Autumn has arrived. I do like Fall though; it’s a great season for eating apple pie, carving pumpkins, and enjoying nature (leaves changing).

IMG_1969.JPG

Thursday, 11 September 2014
Cross-Train (I cross-trained)
Today was cross training day, as are most Thursdays. Nike organised two places where my crew could workout at: On Your Mark & Crosstown Fitness. I went to On Your Mark Training and I was happy to know that Emily Hutchins taught the class. Emily is a Nike Training Club (NTC) master trainer so I’ve taken many of her classes before at NTC Chicago. She is also one of the owners of On Your Mark.

IMG_1972.JPG

Class tonight consisted of several strength and short cardio bursts. My favourite exercise was working with the big ropes. The goal was to bang the ropes up and down really fast. I definitely felt my arm muscles getting stronger after this exercises. My shoulders were in pain afterwards but it was a good kind of pain.

IMG_1973.JPG

IMG_1991.JPG

IMG_1974.JPG

Friday, 12 September 2014
5 miles (I ran 0 miles)
I didn’t run because I am trying to rest my legs.

Saturday, 13 September 2014
20 miles (I ran 15 miles)
This morning was for another long run. My Nike crew met as usual at Nike Training Club to stretch then we headed out at 6:30am to run. The weather was beautiful because it had rained last night.

I saw Emily around mile 5 so we ran together all the way to the end of the lakeshore path. This was my first time reaching the top of the path so it was cool to see how open and big the space up there was. The sky was so blue and it was nice to breath in fresh air. See the photo below.

IMG_1975.JPG

I hydrated with MEStrength after my run. Also remember, you can still get 20% all their products this month by entering the discount code “AggieRuns”

IMG_1789.JPG

Sunday, 14 September 2014
Rest Day (I rested)
I went apple picking this morning at an apple orchard that was an hour away from the city. After yesterday’s long run, my legs were still a bit stiff so I did more stretching this morning. I had a relaxing Sunday with my friends 🙂 After apple picking and eating delicious apple cider donuts, we stopped by the local town to have lunch then drove back to the city. I feel blessed to escape the city for a few hours because there is so much hustling and bustling (being busy) in Chicago that sometimes I forget to just relax.

IMG_1976.JPG

Another training week has ended. Next week, my goal is to complete the big 20 mile long run because that will be my final opportunity to run plenty of miles in one day. After next week, everyone will start reducing their weekly run mileage (this is called “tapering”) and then I’ll hit RACE WEEK. I can’t wait 🙂

How is your marathon training going? If you are not currently training for a marathon, how do you stay motivated to keep an active lifestyle? Let me know in the comments.

xoxo,
Aggie

4 thoughts on “Chicago Marathon Training: Week 12 recap

Leave a Reply

