Chicago Marathon Training: Week 15 recap

“It’s never too late to pursue a dream, set a new goal or make a change for the better.”

IMG_2336.JPG
Photo via RunNikeWomen

Week 15 of marathon training
Dates: 29 September – 05 October 2014
Number of runs: 4
Total Distance: 7.19 miles (training plan called for 28.25 miles)

Taper week continues. As you know, ‘Taper’ is the reduction of running miles so that the body rests before a big race. I think the Nike+ coach running schedule is too harsh for taper week. I mean, the training plan has me running way too much in my opinion. Anyway,

This week went by really fast. I can’t believe I have one more week of training left before I run my first marathon. I found myself slipping away from running so I’ve kept reminding myself that my focus will not falter. I’m in it for the long run!

Monday, 29 September 2014.
4 miles (I ran about 5 miles)

I had a great run today. My Nike #2SixPoints crew met met as usual for our group run. While running, I ran into Jordan, a member of my Nike training group. I actually had never seen Jordan in any of the training runs so it was nice to see a different face. All 3 of us stuck together on the run because everyone else had sped off.

IMG_2693.JPG

I actually felt really good during this run. My ankles didn’t hurt as much until the end of the run. After the run, the Chicago Blackhawks sports psychologists came to speak to the group about mentally preparing for race day. He speaks to hockey players all the time about staying relaxed before a big game so he applied those same principles to us. He mainly told us to think of positive things when we run and to not worry about things that we can’t control such as weather conditions.

Blackhawks sports psychologist

Tuesday, 30 September 2014
3.25 miles (I ran 0.24 miles)

Wednesday, 01 October 2014
5 miles (I ran 1.07 miles)
I ran to the Nike Bucktown store for a Nike Training Club (NTC) class. I love that these NTC classes are free so I always try to go to many of them. I tried to run the whole way to class but my ankle (mostly right ankle) started to hurt. So I just walked the rest of the way to the Nike store. I’m definitely going to save money to buy new shoes after the marathon. The NTC class was tough yet fun as usual.

NTC October 1st - Blog

Thursday, 02 October 2014
Cross Train (I didn’t cross train)

Friday, 03 October 2014
4 miles (I ran 0 miles)

Saturday, 04 October 2014
12 miles (I ran 0 miles)

Sunday, 05 October 2014
Rest day. I ran 0.87 miles.

After Monday, I did’t run at all this week because of my ankle. I’m sure you are tired about hearing about my ankle, but there was no way I was going to quit  running my first marathon because of an ankle pain. This is why I have taken most of my training very easy; well, no really…haha. Soon the marathon will be over and I’ll be able to rest for days to come.

xoxo,
Aggie

Leave a Reply

