Meet the Runner: Savannah Fisher

Running not only changed but saved me” – Savannah Fisher from Brock, Texas (USA)

IMG_3713

As a lover of all things Nike, I’m happy to announce that the first runner being featured on my blog is a fan of Nike Women too. She recently (in October) ran the 2014 Nike Women’s half-marathon in San Francisco, California. In case you didn’t know, the Nike Women’s SF race is very challenging because of the several hills on the race course. Savannah is living proof that even through life’s hardships, you can still come out a stronger person.

Below is a questionnaire/Interview with Savannah. These are her words and her running story.

When did you start running and why?
I started to fall into a darkness. Letting it fairly consume all of me. Had no idea what my purpose was. I was finally dealing with the death of my brother and how it completely changed the dynamics of my family and also our personalities. Seeing the brokenness in my parents. Seeing the brokenness in my grandparents not just from losing a grandchild but to watch their children become so broken. I got tired of feeling broken and defeated. One day I took off. Not running from the past or pain but running to a healthier life. I healed. Mile by mile I climbed out of that darkness. Out of that brokenness. I healed through running. I started to feel like I belonged to something. I’m not where I need to be but I feel like I’ve found some purpose. Running not only changed but saved me.

What is your favourite distance to run?
13.1 (as in 13.1 miles). But I run my first full this January at The Houston Marathon.

IMG_3893

What has been your most memorable race so far?
The Nike Women’s Half Marathon in DC. My first half marathon. I lost my grandpa in the middle of training. Lost about 3 weeks of my training due to staying at the hospital daily next to him. I was nervous because I lost a lot of training time. When I crossed that finish line I not only proved I could run 13.1, I proved I could do it after an extremely hard time with my family. In that moment I decided to my upcoming Houston Marathon because that is where my grandmother and him started their lives together and where a lot of his success came from.

IMG_4280

Is there an athlete or person that inspires you?
Robin Arzon, because of the way she finds ways to inspire others to push no matter what you’re going through.

IMG_4158

What are your 2015 overall fitness or running goals? If none, what are you general fitness goals?
To complete a full marathon. To inspire people around me. To help people believe in themselves because belief is all we need sometimes.

IMG_2962

Is there anything else you want to mention? Perhaps a non-running related fun fact?
Thanks for having me Aggie! Look forward to keeping up with you and your blog. Keep inspiring and working! I’m working on starting a blog. Let’s be friends and find me!

For more of Savannah, follow her on twitter or Instagram.

P.S. I love meeting other runners and fitness enthusiasts. To be featured on my blog, please fill out this form.

What’s on your running/training schedule this weekend? Let me know in the comments below.

xoxo,
Aggie

2 thoughts on “Meet the Runner: Savannah Fisher

Leave a Reply

