Meet the Runner: Nij

I never expected running to change my life so dramatically.” – Nasif Nijabat, London, UK

To all my American readers, I’m really happy to introduce the first runner who lives abroad. I first met Nij through the wonders of the internet and I couldn’t believe how many miles a month he runs (let’s just say it’s a lot). In just over 2 years, Nij has completed 12 marathons so far and he plans to run more.

It’s so great what running can do for a person; not just to maintain fitness or lose weight, but for clearing the mind. It really heals both body, mind, and spirit. On some of my bad days, I like to go out for a stroll along my neighbourhood or a quick job and I instantly feel better. Can you imagine not being able to run for a whole month? No, I bet you that you can’t. Running sets you free so go out there and enjoy it. Breath in that fresh air. Okay, okay, enough of my rambling….shall we meet NIJ? Yes, let’s do so.

Nij

Below is a an interview with Nij. These are his words and his running story.

When did you start running and why?
I started running in April 2012, initially to lose weight and get healthy as I had abused my body and been out of shape for years. I hadn’t ran since I was in school, so started off on the ‘couch to 5k’ program which is basically interval training. What I never expected was for it to change my life so dramatically! Running has become a philosophy, a existential outlook to the way I conduct myself in all parts of my life. That is, applying the ethos of the run- which is hard work, determination and consistency, anything is attainable. For me, it’s not about being talented, it’s about perseverance. Also, I love the fact that the run is so personal to the individual, it’s what you want it to be. You can think about everything or nothing at all-zen time! The run can teach us so much. It has for me! You most definitely have to respect your run for sure!! It’s a humbling experience.

What is your favourite distance to run?
The longer the better – it’s takes a few miles for my body to get into the “groove”. But I would say 10 miles is a nice “head clearer” for me.

What has been your most memorable race so far?
They have all been memorable in there own right. I am truly grateful to have completed 12 marathons thus far. I wouldn’t have envisaged it from the start. It’s difficult to choose one. But, I have to say the more hilly and gnarlier the better! So the coastal trails I would say I prefer.

Is there an athlete or person that inspires you?
My fellow runners inspire me on a daily basis- we runners are a force to be reckoned with! I’m part of a online runners forum and some of the life stories and daily plights that the runners choose to share inspire and motivate me greatly. I feel truly honoured to be a part of their journey! I hope we all run for a long time!! One love!

What are your 2015 overall fitness or running goals?
No set goals – just to be able to continue to do what I love for as long as my legs will let me! And have some races thrown in along the way! (Because I do like collecting the bling!)

Nasif N.

Is there anything else you want to mention?
Thanks for featuring me in your blog! It’s an honour and a privilege! One love! ✌️

Want more of Nij? Then make sure to follow him on social media – Facebook (Nasif ‘Nij’ Nijabat), Twitter or Instagram.

So far, I’m loving meeting runners from around the globe and although I haven’t met everyone face-to-face, it’s great to know that we all share running as a hobby. I’m not sure how long this fun project of mine will last, but I’m having fun sharing everyone’s stories so far. Who knows maybe I’ll write a book? Haha…hmmm “Aggie Writer”, I like the sound of that. Just kidding! I have enough on my plate.

Do you someone who wants to be featured on my blog? Comment below or go here.

Bon weekend!

xoxo,
Aggie

Leave a Reply

