Meet the Runner: HyeKi Kim

“An athlete that inspires me is Son Kee-Chung who won the gold medal at the 1936 Berlin Olympics. He had to compete under the Japanese delegation because Korea was part of the Japanese Empire at the time.” – Hye Ki Kim, 27, Seoul, South Korea

One of my closest friends in college (University) is from South Korea. She moved out of America after graduating and is now living and working back home. I’m glad that the final runner featured on my blog this year is a runner who lives abroad in a country I’ll want to visit one day. I’ve never been to South Korea but I know if I visited, I know I would have a great time with the running community over there.

unnamed (2)

When did you start running and why?
I previously participated in 10K races hosted by Nike or Adidas since 2011 but the time I actually started running frequently, as a routine, is June 2014. I feel great after I finish the race and especially I love the sound of heartbeat after a good run. For me, running is what refreshes and rejuvenates me after a busy day of work.

What is your favourite distance to run?
For me, 10K is about just enough; not too short, not too long.

unnamed (1)

Do you have a run crew or are you a member of a fitness club?
I am member of the run crew ‘Sweat on Block’ and we do regular group runs every Saturday around the neighborhood called Seongsan-dong. We arrange various courses made of sidewalk pavements or city parks and etc.What has been your most memorable race so far?
The most memorable race so far is the half marathon during Son Kee Chung Marathon on November 23rd, 2014. For me it was the first half marathon I have ever done and I almost cried in the end because of the memory of practicing for the marathon with my run crew was phasing through my mind. I was a bit worried if I would finish the half marathon but I was so glad that I actually did it in the end.

IMG_3627

Is there an athlete or person that inspires you?
1936 Berlin Olympic gold medalist Son Kee Chung inspires me. Unfortunately, he had to participate in the Olympics as a Japanese athlete because Korea was colonized by Japan at the time. It truly is a sad history. I am thankful for those who made sacrifices and gave the best of their efforts so we all could run freely as who we are.

unnamed

What are your 2015 overall fitness or running goals?
I am planning to run a full marathon on the fall 2015. I believe if I improve myself step by step, I can run Boston Marathon someday.

WeRunSeoul

Is there anything else you want to mention? Perhaps a non-running related fun fact?
First of all I am thankful to be part of this wonderful project. Through this project, I would like to meet great runners around the world. Additionally, I also would like to introduce the great running courses in Seoul to them. If there is any runner who is interested in visiting Seoul, do not hesitate to contact me.

HyeKi will keep running in 2015. Make sure to follow her posts on Instagram.

xoxo,
Aggie

Leave a Reply

