Meet the Runner: Lizette Marroquin

Anyone that gets up early in the morning on marathon day inspires me.” (quote) – Lizette Marroquin, 37, Los Angeles, California (USA)

I’m pleased to introduce to you another Nike Women’s race runner (#WeRunSF). While I haven’t met Lizette face-to-face yet, I can tell that she is a very determined runner. In 2015, she hopes to increase her racing distance over 26.2 miles. Marathons may soon be a thing of the past for her as she tackles on more and more running miles. Ultra distance runner perhaps? Never say never!

Read her running story below.

Lizette M. - Marathon We Run SF

When did you start running and why?
Can’t remember. I’ve been running since a young age.

What is your favourite distance to run?
So far my favorite is 26.2 miles (42.2 km). That will increase by 2015. But for now, a full marathon is my favorite distance.
unnamed

What has been your most memorable race so far?
Definitely the Long Beach Marathon 2014. I was so sick from beginning to end. It was one of the most memorable and challenging races for me. At many times I wanted to quit but I didn’t. I didn’t finish at the time I wanted but I crossed that finish line.

Is there an athlete or person that inspires you?
Anyone that gets up early in the morning on marathon day inspires me. All those people who get up and train, inspire me. I have a ton of friends that are true friends that have helped me, pushed me and continue to inspire me every single day.

Do you have a run crew (running group) or are you a member of a fitness club/gym?
I lead a run with 2XU in Santa Monica, CA. But on occasion, I have ran with Blacklist LA, We Run LA and I’ve only ran once with The Republic.

Nike Womens Half Marathon

What are your 2015 overall fitness or running goals?
I have a little challenge that only a handful of people know about. But another one I will tell you about is to get more miles in for the 2015 year.

unnamed (2)

Don’t miss out on Lizette’s running adventures. Follow her on Instagram.

Everyone has a running story. To be featured on my blog, please fill out this google form here.

xoxo,
Aggie

 

Leave a Reply

