Meet the Runner: Alex Mazzurco

IMG_4058

It’s time to introduce the second fitness enthusiastic on my blog for this year, Alex from Cleveland, Ohio. She will soon be competing in a figure competition, The 2015 NPC Ohio Natural Bikini competition on March 28!

IMG_4057

When did you start running and why? If you’re not a runner, how do you stay active?
In junior high school for cross country, I thought I would be good at it, and turns out I didn’t have the heart for it and I really struggled. Once I got to high school I decided to dedicate myself to running and give it my all and made varsity as a freshman.

What is your favourite distance to run? If you’re not a runner, what’s your favourite fitness activity?
5k’s but I recently ran my first half marathon and it was an amazing experience.

IMG_4053

What has been your most memorable race so far? For non-runners, what has been most memorable about your fitness journey?
The Detroit Free Press Half Marathon in October 2014. I trained alone for 3 months and ended up getting a stress fracture. I debated not running the race but decided to push through. I trained alone the whole time and didn’t realize how hard that was mentally until I ran the actual race. Running the race and being surrounded by people was certainly a much better experience.

Is there an athlete or person that inspires you?
There are a few. Eve Horbol because of her journey with Nike and the marathon, My boss Lindsay who has run 4 marathons and countless half marathons, and my Mom, she hates running but gets up everyday and runs her 3.1miles while pushing herself in all aspects of fitness.

IMG_4054

What are your 2015 overall fitness or running goals?
I would love to run a marathon if my foot heals, but in the mean time I plan on competing in a figure competition this spring!

Follow her fitness journey on Instagram and her upcoming blog here.

xoxo,
Aggie

Leave a Reply

