Day 8/30 – Take the leap Yoga Challenge and Day 1 of #BringingYogaBack

“Own your failure, no one is perfect. Always try and learn from defeat to prepare for your next victory. Adapt. Overcome.” #nevergiveup – John Cena

IMG_4376

What – 30 day Yoga Challenge with Sweat Pink and Prana (Day 8)

Take the Leap Challenge dates – February 2nd to March 8th 2015.

BringingYogaBack Challenge dates – February 9th – February 20th

Goal – To do yoga for 10-15 mins a day and learn crow pose (Bakasana).

Today’s pose was Shalambasana (Locust Pose)

Happy Monday!

This day seemed to have gone by so fast. This morning, I signed up for a free week of yoga at a local studio. After work, I went to this free Kundalini Yoga class which is a style of yoga that I’ve never done before. I didn’t love it that much but it was a good class because it was very restorative. Unlike Vinyasa style of yoga where the body moves around and flows a lot, Kundalini involves a lot of breathing, sitting, and chanting. I didn’t participate in the chanting because I don’t know what all of it means.

After yoga class, I practiced locust pose for a little bit. My back hurt while I was in the pose. I was squeezing my back to try to lift my legs and chest higher and I think I should have used more of my thighs and legs to push up.

IMG_4378

Here’s a close up photo of me in locust pose

IMG_4377

I’ll keep working on locust pose but in the mean time, my goal during the 30 day TakeTheLeap yoga challenge is to do 10-15mins of Yoga a day (accomplished today with a 1 hour class) AND practice Bakasana (Crow Pose). I’ll practice crow pose tonight. Yesterday, I noticed that I was able to do the crow pose really well but I have no picture to show it. It’s hard taking a photo by myself in crow pose because I have to place my phone at several angles before setting the timer.

Anyway…..

I encourage you to participate in the 12 day Yoga Challenge. It will be fun plus, you don’t have to post a picture everyday on Instagram. More details here.

xoxo,
Aggie

Leave a Reply

