Meet the Runner: Andrea Arnold

“In 2014, I ran the Chicago Marathon and beat my previous time by 3 minutes. The crowd, the city, and weather couldn’t have been more perfect.” – Andrea Arnold, 25, San Diego, California

I feel very blessed to be able to connect with so many runners around the world. It’s so fantastic to see what inspires many of these runners. This evening, I introduce to you, Andrea from San Diego. Funny enough, she ran the Chicago marathon last year like I did. Who would have known that I would be interviewing her months later? While the 2014 Chicago Marathon is over, Andrea continues to run and train. Her drive for fitness is amazing so I hope she will inspire you. Read her interview below.
unnamed

When did you start running and why?
I started running seriously when I moved to San Diego (SD). I was so impressed by the outdoor activity here in SD – everyone was surfing, cycling, and running. It was hard not to join the movement.  So I decided I wanted to run a full marathon after a few half marathons under my belt. I later joined a running team. I was given a workout plan each week that consisted of tempo runs, speed work, and long runs. After my first marathon in Santa Barbara I was hooked. The rush I felt the entire 26.2 miles was amazing and crossing that finish line almost had me in tears. In 2014, I ran the Chicago Marathon and beat my previous time by 3 minutes. The crowd, the city, and weather couldn’t have been more perfect. I am now working on qualifying for the New York Marathon!

unnamed (1)

What is your favourite distance to run?
My favorite distance to run is a marathon. There’s no better feeling than knowing I put my heart and soul into 26.2 miles. My next favorite would have to be a 5k because it is short enough to hold a fast pace. I PR’d this past year with a 21:07 and hope to beat that in 2015.

Is there an athlete or person that inspires you?
Marshawn Lynch is my favorite athlete. He is the running back for the Seattle Seahawks and originally from the San Francisco Bay Area (I’m from the bay too). He is a beast and never backs down! I am inspired by his skills and grit!

unnamed (2)

What are your 2015 overall fitness or running goals?
Goals for 2015: 1. Run Fontana Half Marathon in 1:32 2. Qualify for NY Marathon 3. Try new fitness classes 4. Continue boxing 5. Have fun while training my ass off

Do you have a fun non-fitness related fact that you would like to share?
I am obsessed with pigs and fake mustaches. I love candy and red velvet cupcakes. I got married in Vegas to my college sweetheart 2 years ago. I want 5 kids and can’t wait to be a fit mom.

unnamed (3)

Make sure to keep up with A N D Y on her blog or follow her inspiring posts on Instagram.

If you would like to be included in my blog, please fill out the form here.

xoxo,
Aggie

2 thoughts on “Meet the Runner: Andrea Arnold

Leave a Reply

