Meet the Runner: Jarick Walker

“I’ve never experienced anything cooler than the running high I felt when I finished (and ran) my first half-marathon in the Fall of 2014.” – Jarick Walker, 26, Boston, MA

Group run - jarick walker
When did you start running and why?
I started running in April 2014 when I started working at Nike Boston as a pacer for their Run Club. I saw it as a cool way to get paid to be active and I only had to run with the 2 mile group when I first started out.

What is your favourite distance to run?
My favorite distance to run is 3-4 miles. I played football for 11 years (we don’t do long distance….lol).

We Run Boston - Jarick WalkerWhat has been your most memorable race so far?
My first and only half marathon (for now). A good friend Daena, aka @BaddieDae, convinced me to run it. We ended up doing it together with a group of seven members of the Nike Run Club. I’ve never experienced anything cooler than the running high I felt when I finished the race.

Is there an athlete or person that inspires you?
Ray Lewis! He has always been my favorite player because of the passion and energy he brings to the game. I aspire to be as inspiring as he has been to his teammates and many other athletes.

What are your 2015 overall fitness or running goals?
Run another half-marathon or two! Also build a larger fitness movement in Boston.

Do you have a fun non-fitness related fact that you would like to share?
I am slightly addicted to sneakers. It’s actually really bad, I need help.

How can my readers contact you? [Social Media: Twitter? Instagram? Facebook? Blog?]
Instagram: @jarickwalker

Meet the Runner - Jarick Walker

To be added to my “Meet the Runners” series please fill out this form.

xoxo,
Aggie

Leave a Reply

