Healthy work environment

“Clear your mind of can’t” – Samuel Johnson

IMG_4873

Photo above from MoveNourishBelieve.com, the home of Lorna Jane Active.

I work at a job where I sit down on a chair for 8 hours. This isn’t ideal but at least I have a job.

Lately, I’ve been taking the steps up to work which feels refreshing because I get a quick boost of energy in the morning. Sometimes, you never know the view you are missing out on unless you walk up the steps (see the photo below).

Steps (7 flights of stairs)

Sitting down for 8 hours a day at work is not ideal. The body is made for motion. We are mobile people. We love to move and feel the freedom of movement, at least I certainly do. These days, people use standing desks at work to stay in an upright position. If you don’t have a standing desk, you can still have a healthy work space and this blog post will tell you how to do just that.

I recently discovered the company, WeWork, a coworking company who’s mission is “to create a world where people work to make a life, not just a living.” So basically, if you are a small business and you don’t have a place to work, WeWork has you covered. Since I’ll be in Los Angeles this weekend, I’ve been swooning over their LA space. It’s beautiful. As you can tell, I love looking at designs and HGTV is a common TV channel that is on at my house.

So since I like to live a healthy lifestyle, I thought I would write a blog post about keeping your work environment healthy.

Here are some things that I do at work to stay fit and healthy:

1) Bring a water bottle: This may sound very simple and easy but sometimes this isn’t done often. I bring a water bottle to work everyday. In fact, I keep a bottle at my desk at all times so that I don’t have to keep bringing one from home. Staying hydrated throughout the day is important because the body needs water and lemon water is even better. I currently use a BPA free water bottle at work.

  • Having your own water bottle helps the environment by saving the amount of plastic water bottles
  • Water is essential training tool for regulating body temperature and transporting nutrients. So pick up a water bottle, fill it with cold water and drink, and refill it a few times a day.” – Joy Bauer, Nike Performance Council Member

2) Take the steps: Taking the steps up to your office is a great way to start or end your day. You could even climb up and down the steps during your lunch break. As for me, this is something I’ve started to do. I was talking to my manager the other day and he mentioned that he has taken the steps up to his desk twice. Once he got up, he was slightly out of breath (granted the steps up to where we work are LONG flights of stairs and the air isn’t good in there either). Although the building I work in only has 7 floors, I’ve become so lazy and accustomed to taking the elevators. So here we go, I’m going to challenge myself to take the steps 3 times a week whenever I arrive at work. I challenge you to do the same.

3) Protect your back by taking walking breaks: It’s no secret that sitting down all day isn’t good for the back (neither is standing all day too I suppose). At work, I try to get up every 1-2 hours to stretch or take a quick stroll to the bathroom and back.

Back StretchHere are 4 exercises to keep your back muscles strong. These exercises are recommend by Annette Fiscelli, a Chicago fitness instructor and Nike trainer at On Your Mark Coaching & Training. You can read the full article here – http://thrive.suntimes.com/health/thrive-home-4-workout-moves-strengthen-back/. By the way, if you are looking for a gym in Chicago, I highly recommend On Your Mark. I’ve been there a few times and I also left sweating.

Here are the exercises discussed in the above article:
Exercise 1 – Bent Over Row
Exercise 2 – T
Exercise 3 – Reverse Fly
Exercise 4 – Y

How does your healthy work space look like? Tell me below in the comments 🙂

xoxo,
Aggie

The Mayo Clinic wrote a great article on maintaining a healthy work life

http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-living/adult-health/in-depth/office-exercise/art-20047394?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter&utm_campaign=Leadify

Leave a Reply

